Sci Fi

STORIES OF YOUR LIFE AND OTHERS

Staff Pick Logo
Stories of Your Life: And Others Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781931520720
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Small Beer Press - October 26th, 2010

This extraordinary collection represents the best aspirations of science fiction, bringing together intellectual curiosity and true insight into the human heart and psyche. The title story alone is worth bringing this book home; an attempt to create a science fiction of linguistics results in one of the most heartbreaking stories you'll ever read.

Alexander

 


MONSTROUS REGIMENT

Staff Pick Logo
Monstrous Regiment Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060013165
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: HarperTorch - August 31st, 2004

Polly Perks has disguised herself as a boy to join the army, and her comrades in arms include a vampire, a troll, and a bunch of other misfits all with secrets of their own. The war is not going well, and it will take everything they have to survive, let alone make a difference. A poignant and often hilarious look at war, gender, and politics.

Shana

 


ZEROBOXER

Staff Pick Logo
Zeroboxer Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780738743387
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flux - April 8th, 2015

One of the most inventive, thrilling, and addictive scifi novels I've ever read! Carr "the Raptor" Luka is a rising star in the weightless combat sport of Zeroboxing. But winning glory for his home planet Earth--now overshadowed by its prosperous interstellar colonies--isn't as easy as knocking out his opponents in the Cube. As Carr's fame grows, he has to deal with the complicated downsides of celebrity, interstellar politics as tensions rise between Earth and Mars, and a secret that could end his boxing career.

Mackenzie


THE FIRST FIFTEEN LIVES OF HARRY AUGUST

Staff Pick Logo
The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316399623
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - October 21st, 2014

With a premise in the great tradition of Groundhog Day, North has created a unique species of humans who live in eternal loops—returning to their moment of birth after each death, the entire world seemingly reset, all their failures and accomplishments erased, but with memories intact. They live lives free of consequence, free to follow new paths, new ambitions, new loves each time. Until one among them does the unthinkable, and finds a way to change the world permanently.

Alexander


Feed

Staff Pick Logo
Feed (Newsflesh Trilogy) Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9780316081054
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - May 1st, 2010

A political thriller, but with zombies! Feed takes place 20 years after the zombie apocalypse in a world that has changed forever, but hasn't ended. Georgia and Shaun Mason are bloggers that start out simply reporting on a presidential campaign and end up neck-deep in conspiracies and attempts on their lives. Features excellent world building, interesting characters, and a take on the zombie genre that's refreshingly different.

Shana


City of Stairs

Staff Pick Logo
City of Stairs (Divine Cities #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780804137171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - September 9th, 2014

Bulikov once wielded the powers of the Gods to conquer the world. But when its divine protectors were mysteriously killed, the city fell into decay, conquered by those it once dominated. Now a lowly colonial outpost, Bulikov falls under scrutiny when Shara Divani, spymaster, arrives to investigate the murder of a seemingly harmless historian. As Shara pursues this mystery, she begins to suspect that the beings who once protected Bulikov may not be as dead as they seem. A rich, densely packed fantasy which explores questions of colonization, faith, and the meaning of history.

Rebecca


Ancillary Justice

Staff Pick Logo
Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316246620
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - October 1st, 2013

Artificial intelligence meets human vengeance. Once Justice of Toren, a ship responsible for the lives of thousands, the soldier Breq is confined by treachery to one human body and one human mission: revenge on the ruler of the Radch empire. This debut novel swept the Hugo, Nebula, Arthur C. Clarke, and Locus awards. For fans of innovative, mind-bending science fiction.

Rebecca


Fledgling

Staff Pick Logo
Fledgling Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780446696166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - January 1st, 2007

When Shori wakes she is lost and suffering from major brain trauma. As she recovers, the memories that surface tell an incredible story: though Shori appears to be a child, she is actually a 53-year-old member of a vampiric race called Ina. Now Shori must wade headfirst into murky Ina politics and decide who to trust, for one thing is certain: one of her Ina brethren is responsible for the slaughter that left her helpless and stripped of memory. Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Octavia Butler's last novel is engrossing, lush and terribly unsettling.

Rebecca


I am the Weapon

Staff Pick Logo
I Am the Weapon (Unknown Assassin #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316199674
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 13th, 2014

Boy Nobody doesn't have a name. He has an alias. He doesn't have a family. He has the Program. He doesn't have a dream. He has a mission. But when Boy is assigned to kill the mayor of New York City, something changes. As he gets closer to the mayor's family, he begins to wonder about his life before the Program...and the possibility of a normal future. But does he want the truth badly enough to sabotage the mission and risk the wrath of the Program? I Am the Weapon is a whip-smart, gripping, fast-paced thriller perfect for fans of Alex Rider and Maximum Ride."

Rebecca


California

Staff Pick Logo
California Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316250818
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Little Brown and Company - July 8th, 2014

In a not so distant future, young married couple Frida and Cal have fled a ruined Los Angeles and built a fragile new life on their own in the wilderness, content with only each other until Frida discovers she is pregnant. Their sudden reentry into community forces Cal and Frida to reexamine their ideas about themselves, each other, and the strength of their principles when their unborn child's safety is at stake. California is a gripping read and the future that Lepucki imagines seems frighteningly plausible and close at hand.

Katie


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi