Sci Fi

The Martian

Staff Pick Logo
The Martian Cover Image
ISBN: 9780804139021
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - February 11th, 2014

Looking for a man who's smart, funny, and not bad at growing potatoes in a crisis? Look inside. If there's anyone who's perfect for getting stuck on Mars by himself, it's Mark Watney. His wry humor and engineers-can-fix-anything approach to survival drive this interplanetary Robinson Crusoe. (Also, Josh approved.)


Luminous Chaos

Staff Pick Logo
Luminous Chaos (Mysteries of New Venice) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781612191416
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Melville House Publishing - October 15th, 2013

The second volume in the best sci fi series around sees the heros of New Venice transported back in time to an occultist-filled, snow bound, mystical fin de siecle Paris. Psychomotive travel, metaphrodisiacs, anaglyphs, a steam-powered Guillotine, and, of course, an army of ravens. And Mallarme, of course.  Valtat’s beautiful prose is second only  to his wonderful imagination and if he keeps this up , The Mysteries of New Venice will be one of the great works in the genre.


The Rook

Staff Pick Logo
The Rook (Rook Files #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780316098809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - October 16th, 2012

When Myfanwy Thomas wakes up surrounded by dead bodies in a London park, she doesn't remember anything. Not what happened, not where the bodies came from, not even her own name. Her only clues come in the form of notes left by her former self, an operative in a secret agency dedicated to protecting the world from supernatural threats. In order to survive, Myfanwy must pretend she still has her memories while ferreting out the would-be killer before they're able to finish the job. For fans of Doctor Who, Ghostbusters, and general romps.


Finnikin of the Rock

Staff Pick Logo
Finnikin of the Rock (Lumatere Chronicles) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780763652920
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - August 9th, 2011

Ten years earlier, the royal family of Lumatere was murdered and a curse cast over the kingdom, cutting it off from the outside world. Now Finnikin and the mysterious novice Evanjalin set out to reclaim Lumatere in this dark and gritty fantasy that explores identity, guilt, and the meaning of home for refugees living ten years in exile.



Staff Pick Logo
Wool Cover Image
ISBN: 9781476733951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 12th, 2013

Wool began as a self-published online short story, but reader demand prompted a series of installments that combined form this omnibus edition. Parts one and two build the claustrophobic and menacing atmosphere of this unique dystopian world before launching into an action packed second half full of memorable characters and compelling storylines.


For Darkness Shows the Stars

Staff Pick Logo
For Darkness Shows the Stars Cover Image
ISBN: 9780062006158
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - July 2nd, 2013

Take two intrepid heroes of the Austen persuasion. Add a few spaceships, class division, rampant genetic engineering, and a dollop of romance. Stir until potent. Diana  Peterfreund's For Darkness Shows the Stars is a lush, poetic reimagining of Jane Austen's Persuasion, an adaptation both familiar and surprising in turn. If Jane Austen and science fiction are your cups of tea, this book is for you.



Staff Pick Logo
Aurorarama Cover Image
ISBN: 9781612191317
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Melville House Publishing - May 1st, 2012

By far, this is the best book of Sci Fi/Fantasy I've read in a while. Set above the arctic circle in the beautifully rendered city of New Venice, Aurorama is an adventure filled with political intrigue, romance, magic, and revolution. Strange drugs, weird music, Arctic Kangaroos, mystical Siamese twins, and Tesla coils, this beautifully written book will be a great read for fans of Dr. Who and The Night Circus. Did I mention the beauty? There are moments of prose in this book as beautiful as anything else being written now; as stunning as the aurora always hanging in the north above the action and adventure.


Cold Magic

Staff Pick Logo
Cold Magic (Spiritwalker Trilogy #1) Cover Image
By Elliott
ISBN: 9780316080859
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - September 9th, 2010

and complex characters match wits in a fantastic steampunk world.
Looking for formidable heroines? Look no further than Cat Barahal and
her cousin Bee. Tired of the same old steampunk gadgets? Check out the
clash between new tech and old magic in this head-spinning adventure,
not to mention the saber-toothed werecats and dragons. Bottom line: I
wish I had written this book.Rebecca

Etiquette and Espionage

Staff Pick Logo
Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780316190084
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2013

Wit and whimsy collide in Gail Carriger's young adult debut. Adventurous Sophronia isn't interested in being "finished," but that's before she learns that finishing school involves curtsying and throwing knives. At the same time. Throw in a mechanical dog named Bumbersnoot, pirates traveling by dirigible, and a mysterious missing prototype, and you have what is commonly known as a madcap adventure led by a one-of-a-kind heroine. Fans of Carriger's Parasol Protectorate series will recognize this steampunkified Victorian world where werewolves wear top hats and vampires are more foppish than bloodthirsty, and newcomers will fall in love for the first time.


Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi