Sci Fi

Aurorarama

Staff Pick Badge
Aurorarama: A Novel (The Mysteries of New Venice) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781612191317
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Melville House - May 1st, 2012

By far, this is the best book of Sci Fi/Fantasy I've read in a while. Set above the arctic circle in the beautifully rendered city of New Venice, Aurorama is an adventure filled with political intrigue, romance, magic, and revolution. Strange drugs, weird music, Arctic Kangaroos, mystical Siamese twins, and Tesla coils, this beautifully written book will be a great read for fans of Dr. Who and The Night Circus. Did I mention the beauty? There are moments of prose in this book as beautiful as anything else being written now; as stunning as the aurora always hanging in the north above the action and adventure.

Josh


Cold Magic

Staff Pick Badge
Cold Magic (The Spiritwalker Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316080859
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Orbit - September 9th, 2010

Vivid
and complex characters match wits in a fantastic steampunk world.
Looking for formidable heroines? Look no further than Cat Barahal and
her cousin Bee. Tired of the same old steampunk gadgets? Check out the
clash between new tech and old magic in this head-spinning adventure,
not to mention the saber-toothed werecats and dragons. Bottom line: I
wish I had written this book.Rebecca


Etiquette and Espionage

Staff Pick Badge
Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316190084
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - February 5th, 2013

Wit and whimsy collide in Gail Carriger's young adult debut. Adventurous Sophronia isn't interested in being "finished," but that's before she learns that finishing school involves curtsying and throwing knives. At the same time. Throw in a mechanical dog named Bumbersnoot, pirates traveling by dirigible, and a mysterious missing prototype, and you have what is commonly known as a madcap adventure led by a one-of-a-kind heroine. Fans of Carriger's Parasol Protectorate series will recognize this steampunkified Victorian world where werewolves wear top hats and vampires are more foppish than bloodthirsty, and newcomers will fall in love for the first time.
Rebecca


Above

Staff Pick Badge
Above Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545296700
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - April 1st, 2012

Above is smart and brutal and utterly, devastatingly beautiful. I was completely blown away by everything that this book has to offer: characters, plot, writing, world-building, etc. Describing the premise makes it sound a little crazy - and I suppose it is. But seriously, this is one of the most unique and best-written novels I've read in a long time. That I've read period. And for you non-sci-fi / fantasy readers, ignore those bee wings on the cover. Yes, the story is fantastical, but in Bobet's hands it reads as entirely possible. Maybe it is. All I know is that I honestly love these characters and I still hurt for them. Consider me a BIG fan of this debut novelist.


The Graveyard Book

Staff Pick Badge
The Graveyard Book Cover Image
By Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean (Illustrator), Margaret Atwood (Foreword by)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780060530945
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - December 24th, 2018

Winner of the Hugo Award, the Locus Award, and the Newberry and Carnegie Medals, this is storytelling at its best. Neil Gaiman’s tale of an orphaned boy raised by the ghostly inhabitants of an ancient graveyard, perfectly complimented by the illustrations of Dave McKean, is highly imaginative, witty, and a little bit creepy.

Robin


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Sci Fi