Young Adult

In Other Lands

Staff Pick Logo
In Other Lands Cover Image
By Sarah Rees Brennan, Carolyn Nowak (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781618731203
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Big Mouth House - August 15th, 2017

Prepare to have every fantasy trope you know turned on its head. Elliot Schafer goes to school in the magical Borderlands and questions everything from his sexuality to the status quo. He's a pacifist in a culture that glorifies violence, and he's ready to change the world before he graduates. This is a hilarious story about friendship, growing up, and what one can do if they're smart, determined, and just a little bit obnoxious.


A Line in the Dark

Staff Pick Logo
A Line in the Dark Cover Image
ISBN: 9780735227422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - October 17th, 2017

This unconventionally structured and intense YA thriller will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and other dark, female- centric mysteries. The story centers on queer romance, jealousy tangled up in friendship and class and race differences between teen girls at two different high schools in a small Massachusetts town. The unconventional shift in narration halfway through both allows for a more factual and removed look at the mystery and signals to the audience that Jess has lost control of her own story. One of the most artfully written YA books of the year, and a mystery sure to suck in both older teen and adult readers, this is one not to be missed.


Wild Beauty

Staff Pick Logo
Wild Beauty Cover Image
ISBN: 9781250124555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

McLemore has been longlisted for the National Book Award, and her latest does not disappoint. The Nomeolvides women have tended the lush estate La Pradera for almost a century, but have also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But when a mysterious boy appears in the gardens, the sisters unearth secrets that lead them to question everything they know about La Pradera, and their own family. Haunting and beautifully written.



Staff Pick Logo
Trell Cover Image
ISBN: 9780763692759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 12th, 2017

15-year-old Trell has grown up knowing her father didn't commit the murder he's in prison for, and now she has the chance to work with a lawyer and a reporter to prove his innocence. Written by a Boston Globe reporter and based on his work investigating a cold case, this is perfect for aspiring journalists and activists.


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.


Genuine Fraud

Staff Pick Logo
Genuine Fraud Cover Image
ISBN: 9780385744775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 5th, 2017

Genuine Fraud is the YA psychological thriller we've all been waiting for. It is dark, twisty and impossible to predict and you'll want to pick it back up again as soon as you finish. Jule West-William is a chameleon, a fighter and a fraud- or is she? You be the judge. This book is a rich and compelling character study of a morally ambiguous anti-heroine combined with a taut thriller.



Subscribe to RSS - Young Adult