Young Adult

The Voting Booth

Staff Pick Badge
The Voting Booth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368053297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 7th, 2020

Author, Brandy Colbert, does such a wonderful job at getting at the importance of voting, the barriers that get in the way, and navigating difficult racial conversations that needs to be addressed at any age. Marva Sheridan was the best friend I needed in high school because the importance of voting was lost on me as a teenager!

Sinny


It’s Kind of a Funny Story

Staff Pick Badge
It's Kind of a Funny Story Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780786851973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - May 1st, 2007

 

In this relatable YA novel Ned Vizzini manages to take a heavy topic like mental illness and deliver it in an entertaining and comical way. This story follows a fifteen year-old boy, Craig, who is hospitalized for his depression. On his journey to recovery he meets a variety of interesting characters along the way. They are so well developed that it felt as though they might jump right out of the pages. This book gave me the best company in the days where I felt the most alone- it gave me a good share of laughs too. The intriguing setting as well as the electric character dynamics earned this book a forever place in my top 10.

Hannah


The Belles

Staff Pick Badge
The Belles Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781484732519
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Freeform - February 5th, 2019

 

They say that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, but you absolutely should because this cover delivers. The Belles brings forth the neverending misconception of how beauty means good, when in reality, beauty is dark and dangerous. The world that Dhonielle Clayton creates draws you in with beauty, but darkness and an unstable society is what you end up staying for.

Sinny


Flygirl

Staff Pick Badge
Flygirl Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780142417256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 16th, 2010

 

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly--but her dream seems impossible until the United States enters World War II. In order to join the new women's pilot program, Ida decides to "pass" as white. But things never turn out exactly as hoped... Perfect for readers looking for a new angle on a well-covered historical period.

Rebecca


You Should See Me In A Crown

Staff Pick Badge
You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

 

The gloriously cute black queer prom story you never knew you needed. Liz has to become prom queen in order to get a scholarship and attend her dream college. This is difficult enough since she's black, poor, awkward, and not remotely one of the cool kids in her rich, white town. Even worse, she starts to fall in love with a girl who's openly queer. But can she admit it to her conservative classmates with the crown and the scholarship on the line? And will her girlfriend accept her staying closeted? Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and Dumplin'.

Shana


Banned Book Club

Staff Pick Badge
Banned Book Club Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945820427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Iron Circus Comics - May 19th, 2020

 

A gorgeously drawn comics memoir of joining a college book  club in South Korea 1983, and the thoughts, choices, and trials it sparked. Fast-paced, smart, and utterly compelling, this is the activist comics memoir YA readers are looking for.

Marika


Hello Girls

Staff Pick Badge
Hello Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062803429
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 6th, 2019

 

I didn't know that I needed to read a YA retelling of Thelma and Louise until I picked up this one. Winona and Lucille are tired of feeling trapped in their lives, and they're ready for freedom. They realize they can't wait until graduation to get out, so they run, taking with them a stolen convertible and plans to get the three grand that they need to truly escape. This is a story of intense female friendship and the anger of young women trapped within the patriarchy and it will both pull your heartstrings and make you cheer for these girls to tear down the patriarchy. 

April


Ashlords

Staff Pick Badge
Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

 

Ashlords is one you won't be able to put down! It has something for everyone - sci-fi horse racing, phoenixes, SCIENCE, fights to the death, ghosts?, dimension hopping, and more! - and yet it never feels crowded or overly complicated. You'll be frantically turning the pages in this total adrenaline rush! 

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Young Adult