Young Adult

Afterward

Staff Pick Badge
The Afterward Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735231894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - February 19th, 2019

 

Kalanthe and Olsa were on an epic adventure a year ago. They fell in love and came back heroes. But now, Kalanthe, an apprentice knight, needs to marry to pay off her debts, and Olsa isn't rich enough to qualify. Olsa is one of the most recognized people in the kingdoms, which makes her work as a thief frustratingly difficult. Told half in flashbacks and half in the more complicated post-adventure present, this story is a fascinating exploration of the question so many high fantasy novels ignore: what comes next?

Shana


The Language of Thorns

Staff Pick Badge
The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic Cover Image
By Leigh Bardugo, Sara Kipin (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250122520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Imprint - September 26th, 2017

 

This collection of fairytales includes both clever retellings and entirely new stories that still feel wonderfully familiar. The accompanying illustrations are beautiful, and feel as much a part of the stories as the words do. I wanted to read this over and over.

Ari


Out of Salem

Staff Pick Badge
Out of Salem Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781609809010
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Triangle Square - March 26th, 2019

 

A delightful, literary buffet of zombies, werewolves, and other magical beasties. Most - if not all - of the consequential characters identify as at least one of the following (and potentially more): queer, trans, nonbinary. And to top it off, the ending is lovely. Though the conclusion is left open-ended enough to continue the story, it is warmly satisfying on its own and doesn't beg for a sequel.

Stacey


Blood Water Paint

Staff Pick Badge
Blood Water Paint Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780735232136
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - March 5th, 2019

 

You may not have heard of Renaissance painter Artemisia Gentileschi, the first woman to be accepted into the Florence fine arts academy. But Joy McCullough brings her story to vivid life, from her days as a talented (but largely brushed aside) young artist\ to her assault by her mentor and her fight to get him convicted in court--a story that unfortunately still feels familiar today. This gorgeous, devastating, and ultimately uplifting novel-in-verse is the perfect pick for National Poetry Month.

Kate


Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Staff Pick Badge
Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062271006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - May 8th, 2018

 

When Jo's dad, a popular radio preacher, moves them from Atlanta to the small town of Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: go back in the closet and lie low for her senior year. But when she meets the perfect girl, how can she keep her secret and go after love? The perfect sweet, sexy, teen romance for fans of Love, Simon.

April


Internment

Staff Pick Badge
Internment Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316522694
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 19th, 2019

 

In a near-future United States that's all too easy to imagine, Layla and her parents are forced into an internment camp for Muslim-American citizens. Terrifying but ultimately hopeful, this story is about the power of every voice and every witness.

Rebecca


Dealing in Dreams

Staff Pick Badge
Dealing in Dreams Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781481472142
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

 

Girl gangs keep order in the remnants of Mega City, and Nalah and her Mal Criadas want to be on top. But when Déesse sends Las Mal Criadas on a mission outside the city, Nalah starts to question the stories she's always believed about her hardscrabble world.

Sarah


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Young Adult