Young Adult

America Vol 1

Staff Pick Badge
America Vol. 1: The Life and Times of America Chavez Cover Image
By Gabby Rivera (Text by), Joe Quinones (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781302908812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Marvel - October 31st, 2017

 

America Chavez is the superhero we all need. A Latinx lesbian who can punch star shaped holes between dimensions and is studying at “Sotomayor University,”  America is fierce and fun and loving and I cannot get enough. (And you can read this without extensive comics knowledge.)

 

April


Once and Future Queen

Staff Pick Badge
The Once and Future Queen Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781506702506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dark Horse Books - November 14th, 2017

 

Rani Arturus just wants to win her chess tournament and maybe flirt with Gwen, the cute girl in the audience. Instead, she pulls Excalibur out of a stone and Merlin shows up wearing a space suit and now she, Gwen, and her childhood friend, Lance, must work together to protect the world from the Fae. A wonderful and unique twist on a classic tale.

Shana


Sabriel

Staff Pick Badge
Sabriel (Old Kingdom #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062315557
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 3rd, 2014

 

Few books moved me as a young reader more than Sabriel. When few well rounded female characters were available for a twelve-year-old, Sabriel was a blessing. I stumbled across the book by accident and was immediately immersed in a world where one girl stands on the border of death and protects the living from its denizens. Sabriel must quickly come into her birthright and save her father from the final gateway of death and in the process, save her world.

Cissa


Dread Nation

Staff Pick Badge
Dread Nation Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062570604
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 3rd, 2018

 

You didn’t know you needed a Civil War era zombie book—but you do. In Dread Nation, Justina Ireland draws a compelling, tense, page turner that both makes your heart pound in suspense and makes you think about race with its nuanced writing. In short, it is genius, and you need to read it. (Even if you don't like zombie books.)

April


Goldie Vance Vol. 1

Staff Pick Badge
Goldie Vance Vol. 1 Cover Image
By Hope Larson, Brittney Williams (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781608868988
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: BOOM! Box - October 11th, 2016

 

Goldie Vance dreams of becoming the in-house detective at the hotel where she and her dad work. She's insatiably curious, determined, and willing to go to extreme lengths to help her clients. When one of the clients goes missing, it's up to Goldie and her friends to solve the mystery and track him down. This book is filled with mystery and fun, perfect for fans of Nancy Drew or Gravity Falls!

Shana


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Young Adult