Adult

Parisian Lives

Staff Pick Badge
Parisian Lives: Samuel Beckett, Simone de Beauvoir, and Me: A Memoir Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780385542456
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - November 12th, 2019

 

A National Book Award winner for her much-acclaimed biography of Samuel Beckett, Deirdre Bair tells the story in this engaging memoir of working with two of the 20th Century’s most fascinating, but difficult, personalities.  Lively and well written this book gives important insight to the workings of two great minds.

Nathan


The City We Became

Staff Pick Badge
The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

 

When a city reaches a certain point, it stops being a location on a map and starts being a massive living entity. It's New York's turn now, but nothing is going the way it usually does. The city's six new human avatars need to figure out how to work together and use their powers fast or New York is doomed. A love letter to the weirdness and wonder that is New York City written in N K Jemisin's stunning prose.

Shana


Silent Fury

Staff Pick Badge
A Silent Fury: The El Bordo Mine Fire Cover Image
By Yuri Herrera, Lisa Dillman (Translator)
$13.95
ISBN: 9781911508786
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: And Other Stories - June 16th, 2020

 

A plaque. A press release. A mislabeled photograph. Like a paleontologist drawing a beast from a jaw bone, Herrera tells a story greed, imperialism, and complicity from a few fragments of information. The El Bordo Mine Fire is just one almost forgotten tragedy but, like Rukeyser's Book of the Dead, the bright, poetic light Herrera shines on it with A Silent Fury, casts a shadow on our biggest questions.

Josh


The Trouble with Hating You

Staff Pick Badge
The Trouble with Hating You Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781538733332
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forever - May 12th, 2020

 

Liya is a fiercely independent successful engineer who is completely resistant to her parents' attempts to set her up. So when she realizes that the dinner they invited her to is actually a set-up with an eligible bachelor, she walks out—only to find out that she has to work side-by-side with the guy two days later. This is a funny, heartstring-tugging, banter-filled enemies-to-lovers romance that has a delicious slow burn and completely worth it pay-off at the end.

April


Something to Talk About

Staff Pick Badge
Something to Talk About Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593102527
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Berkley - May 26th, 2020

 

When showrunner Jo is photographed making her assistant laugh on the red carpet, they are immediately declared a couple by the media. Of course, this couldn't come at a worse time as it threatens Jo's new movie and Emma's upcoming promotion. As they begin to spend more and more time together, the question becomes—what if the rumor wasn't so off base after all? This is a delicious slow-burn of a romance that will keep you turning pages as you yell at them to just kiss already. Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue.

April


Lies of Locke Lamora

The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780553588941
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - June 26th, 2007

 

This series is my biggest new obsession of quarantine. It's like grown-up Oliver Twist but in pseudo-Venice and with just the right amounts of fantasy elements. Locke, Jean, and their whole band of delightful con-artists are my new favorite bastards, and I can't get enough of their adventures! 

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adult