Childrens

Wild and Crooked

Staff Pick Badge
Wild and Crooked Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547600021
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Bloomsbury YA - June 4th, 2019

 

Kalyn's father murdered Gus's father seventeen years ago. Or did he? In Wild and Crooked, Thomas delves into the prejudices around the murder that split their small Kentucky town and their families in half, while also deftly exploring family, social class, sexuality, homophobia, poverty, and disability in a way that never feels forced. The book avoids the trap of a Romeo and Juliet romance and instead focuses on family and friendship in a gripping, heartfelt novel of forgiveness and love.

April


Tiny T-Rex and the Impossible Hug

 

Who has teeny, tiny arms, a huge heart, and not a lot of sense? Tiny the T-Rex! Just try not to fall in love with him. Good luck with a hug though.

Stacey


Lunch Quest

Staff Pick Badge
Lunch Quest Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781927668658
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Koyama Press - June 11th, 2019

 

Rabbit is searching for Lettuce, but finds some weird story-portals along the way in this rainbow-colored gem. Dog Man readers are going to devour this! If I brought this book into my after-school comics class there'd be an epic battle over who got to read it first!

Marika


Hotel Dare

Staff Pick Badge
Hotel Dare Cover Image
By Terry Blas, Claudia Aguirre (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781684152056
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: KaBOOM! - June 11th, 2019

 

Magic, mystery, and mayhem abound as Olive and her adopted siblings, Charlotte and Darwin, investigate their grandmother's creepy old hotel and the magical doors that lead to other worlds. But when Charlotte decides she'd rather stay in one of those other worlds, it's up to Darwin and Olive to figure out their family's shattered past and convince her to come home. Perfect for fans of Deadendia and Gravity Falls.

Shana


Shadow Magic

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow Magic Cover Image
By Joshua Khan, Ben Hibon (Illustrator), Ben Hibon (Cover design or artwork by)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781484737880
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 14th, 2017

 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, the Shadow Magic series is a perfect fantasy read: it has a treacherous new world, zombies, elemental powers, giant bats, and a girl who can talk to ghosts. What more could you want?

Caleb


Birthday

Staff Pick Badge
Birthday: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250129833
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 21st, 2019

 

Birthday follows best-friends-from-birth Eric and Morgan over the course of their joint birthdays from ages thirteen to eighteen. It feels viscerally real as it faces issues such as homophobia and transphobia in the south, family tension, and the struggles of growing up in a poor rural area.

April


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens