Childrens

Echo After Echo

Staff Pick Logo
Echo After Echo Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763691646
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - October 10th, 2017

This is a story of passion- passion for life, for one's work, and for other people. Zara is in NYC to star in a Greek tragedy as the tragic romantic lead opposite a heart-throb movie star. But as she sinks deeper into the theatre, Zara realizes she may drown in its madness. Add a murder, a forceful director, a girl who shines brighter than her lighting designs, and sentences so beautiful you'll be dog-earring pages, and the result is nothing short of extraordinary.

Marika


Wild Beauty

Staff Pick Logo
Wild Beauty Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250124555
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2017

McLemore has been longlisted for the National Book Award, and her latest does not disappoint. The Nomeolvides women have tended the lush estate La Pradera for almost a century, but have also hidden a tragic legacy: if they fall in love too deeply, their lovers vanish. But when a mysterious boy appears in the gardens, the sisters unearth secrets that lead them to question everything they know about La Pradera, and their own family. Haunting and beautifully written.

Rebecca


Trell

Staff Pick Logo
Trell Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780763692759
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 12th, 2017

15-year-old Trell has grown up knowing her father didn't commit the murder he's in prison for, and now she has the chance to work with a lawyer and a reporter to prove his innocence. Written by a Boston Globe reporter and based on his work investigating a cold case, this is perfect for aspiring journalists and activists.

Sarah


And I Darken

Staff Pick Logo
And I Darken Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

And I Darken is a historical reimagining of a female Vlad the Impaler trying to protect herself and her younger brother in a hostile foreign land rich with political intrigue and court drama. Lada is a complex, morally gray anti-heroine who fiercely fights for herself and her family and often turns to violence to suit her purposes. This is a dark, gritty and compelling book that will enthrall you and draw you into its world completely. Richly realized, this one is good for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Game of Thrones.

April


Sergeant Reckless

Staff Pick Logo
Sergeant Reckless: The True Story of the Little Horse Who Became a Hero Cover Image
By Patricia McCormick, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062292599
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - September 12th, 2017

A lively tale of the only non-human to officially hold military rank and be awarded two purple hearts for her heroic work in the Korean War. The fact that the brave little horse was totally motivated by her treats of chocolate, eggs, spaghetti and coffee adds levity to the serious demands humans put upon animals especially in times of war.  Important fact - she does survive to be honored and feted.

Susannah


On a Magical Do-Nothing Day

Staff Pick Logo
On a Magical Do-Nothing Day Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062657602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - September 12th, 2017

When a child is thrown out of the house by their mother, they have no choice but to explore. What starts off as a do-nothing day turns into everyday magic as they explore. The illustrations are full of depth, detail, and flashes of surprising color.

Marika


The Antlered Ship

Staff Pick Logo
The Antlered Ship Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481451604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - September 12th, 2017

Marco has many questions. When an Antlered ship arrives in the harbor, Marco wonders if a journey would bring him the answers he yearns for. Beautifully, wistfully illustrated, with plenty of adventure, this book is sure to satisfy. Even the slipcover feels weather-worn and salty!

Emily


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens