Childrens

You Should See Me In A Crown

Staff Pick Badge
You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

 

The gloriously cute black queer prom story you never knew you needed. Liz has to become prom queen in order to get a scholarship and attend her dream college. This is difficult enough since she's black, poor, awkward, and not remotely one of the cool kids in her rich, white town. Even worse, she starts to fall in love with a girl who's openly queer. But can she admit it to her conservative classmates with the crown and the scholarship on the line? And will her girlfriend accept her staying closeted? Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and Dumplin'.

Shana


Banned Book Club

Staff Pick Badge
Banned Book Club Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945820427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Iron Circus Comics - May 19th, 2020

 

A gorgeously drawn comics memoir of joining a college book  club in South Korea 1983, and the thoughts, choices, and trials it sparked. Fast-paced, smart, and utterly compelling, this is the activist comics memoir YA readers are looking for.

Marika


Hello Girls

Staff Pick Badge
Hello Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062803429
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 6th, 2019

 

I didn't know that I needed to read a YA retelling of Thelma and Louise until I picked up this one. Winona and Lucille are tired of feeling trapped in their lives, and they're ready for freedom. They realize they can't wait until graduation to get out, so they run, taking with them a stolen convertible and plans to get the three grand that they need to truly escape. This is a story of intense female friendship and the anger of young women trapped within the patriarchy and it will both pull your heartstrings and make you cheer for these girls to tear down the patriarchy. 

April


Ashlords

Staff Pick Badge
Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

 

Ashlords is one you won't be able to put down! It has something for everyone - sci-fi horse racing, phoenixes, SCIENCE, fights to the death, ghosts?, dimension hopping, and more! - and yet it never feels crowded or overly complicated. You'll be frantically turning the pages in this total adrenaline rush! 

Caleb


Starfell 1 Willow Moss and the Lost Day

Staff Pick Badge
Starfell #1: Willow Moss & the Lost Day Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062879400
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 28th, 2020

 

A fun jaunt about a young witch who is continuously underestimated and saves the day (quite literally). Great for a smile and giving your mind a rest for a bit from…everything. Contains combustible, cat-like monsters who live under beds.

Stacey


Somewhere Only We Know

Staff Pick Badge
Somewhere Only We Know Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250250780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - May 5th, 2020

 

This is such a feel-good book that I want everyone to read it. Lucky is the biggest K-pop star, Jack works for the tabloids, they eat amazing food in Hong Kong, and I just don't know what else there is. I am very food motivated and there are lots of good food in this book, amongst a rom-com feel to the plot.

Sinny


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens