Childrens

All Ways

Staff Pick Badge
All Ways By Kelly Coons Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781636769028
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: New Degree Press - April 27th, 2021

Two brothers go on a road trip. Plenty of misadventures. The brothers are both autistic, but the author never uses that term. One of my new favorite teen adventure stories!

Hazel


Way of the Hive

Staff Pick Badge
The Way of the Hive: A Honey Bee's Story By Jay Hosler, Jay Hosler (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jay Hosler, Jay Hosler (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780063007352
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: HarperAlley - April 20th, 2021

I read this in its original iteration, Clan Apis, in probably 2006 when I was 10 and Very Scared Of Bees. I am not exaggerating when I say it changed my relationship to bees entirely - I went from fear and mistrust to awe, appreciation, and curiosity. Jay Hosler's approach to what is essentially an explanation of What Bees Are is funny, interesting, and moving, and his artwork is top-tier.

Piera


When You Call My Name

Staff Pick Badge
When You Call My Name By Tucker Shaw Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250624864
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 3rd, 2022

Both a love letter to the queer community and a vivid snapshot of what it was like to be gay in New York during the nineties, this book is a vital read for those looking to better understand modern gay history and appreciate our roots, for both teens and adults. A perfect read for Pride month, it pulled on my heartstrings and I think it will for you too.

April


The Ghosts of Rose Hill

Staff Pick Badge
The Ghosts of Rose Hill By R. M. Romero Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781682633380
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Peachtree Teen - May 10th, 2022

A ghostly fantasy set in verse is unique enough, but Romero has really crafted a darkly beautiful story. Music, myth, self-discovery, horror, and joy all flowing together effortlessly. Steeped in personal experience and spiritual identity, it's a real gem. Sure to leave it's mark - especially for lovers of Jewish history and mythology.

Stacey


A Far Wilder Magic

Staff Pick Badge
A Far Wilder Magic By Allison Saft Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250623652
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Wednesday Books - March 8th, 2022

Perfect for fans of The Night Circus and Leigh Bardugo's Grishaverse, A Far Wilder Magic tells the story of Margaret Welty, the competent recluse who keeps things just barely under control while her famous mother is away, and Weston Winters, a poor alchemist looking for a teacher, as they team up to win an unwinnable hunt that is both of their last chance. Romantic and sharp and transportive, you won't want to miss out on this fantastic novel.

Katherine


Escargot

Staff Pick Badge
Escargot By Dashka Slater, Sydney Hanson (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Dashka Slater, Sydney Hanson (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374302818
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - April 11th, 2017

Escargot is the sweetest, fiercest, fastest, most beautiful French snail you'll ever meet. A charming interactive story and an opportunity to read in your best French accent - if the snail wasn't already your favorite animal, it soon will be.

Katie


Gideon Green in Black and White

Staff Pick Badge
Gideon Green in Black and White By Katie Henry Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062955739
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 17th, 2022

Gideon's noir-inspired detective career ended ignominiously in middle school, but now his investigative skills -- and the lure of the editor-in-chief -- have found him a new home on the high school newspaper.

Sarah


Private Label

Staff Pick Badge
Private Label By Kelly Yang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062941107
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - May 31st, 2022

Kelly Yang's Private Label is a brilliant contemplation of what becomes of dreams once disaster strikes. Following two Chinese American teenagers who seem to be from entirely different universes--assured fashion designer Serene and new kid on the block Lian--Yang weaves a gripping YA tale that ultimately discusses how worlds can fall apart and slowly be put back together again with the help of unlikely friendships (and maybe something more).

Cindy


The Lady & the Unicorn

Staff Pick Badge
The Lady and the Unicorn By Béatrice Fontanel, Vanessa Hié (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Béatrice Fontanel, Vanessa Hié (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781648961236
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Princeton Architectural Press - March 15th, 2022

Inspired by the Unicorn Tapestries at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, this is a phenomenally illustrated AND educational book about art history, magic, and all of the qualities that makes a good fairytale. The back matter is amazingly detailed and a fun read for future artists or art historians!

Engel


A Perfect Fit

Staff Pick Badge
A Perfect Fit: How Lena “Lane” Bryant Changed the Shape of Fashion By Mara Rockliff, Juana Martinez-Neal (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358125433
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Clarion Books - April 12th, 2022

It's easy to forget sometimes that there was a real person behind a name. Thankfully, there are picture books like this one to tell the stories of amazing people who struggled and persevered like Lena Bryant. An absolute beauty of a book that is a perfect fit for the subject matter, with such a great message for those of us who always feel like we're sewing without a pattern.
Stacey
 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens