Childrens

Amari and the Night Brothers

Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

Such an inventive spin on the magical school narrative. The fantastical world building is superb, yet is not used as an escape from real-world problems. Amari is an awesome hero with a heart of gold and a will of iron. I truly cannot wait for the next book in the series. There's so much potential!

Stacey


Katie the Catsitter

Staff Pick Badge
Katie the Catsitter Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

This book has all the bitter sweet friendship changes of Roller Girl plus the thrilling exploits, morally ambiguous antiheroes of a Catwoman comic. And so many cats!! Each one with their own special skills, and each one out to make trouble. It's delightful.

Shana


I'll Be the One

Staff Pick Badge
I'll Be the One Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062936929
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 16th, 2020

The first page is all you need to need. Skye Shin is a protagonist that only comes by once (maybe twice) in a lifetime. In the world of kpop, where size 0 and heterosexual relationships are the standard, Skye disrupts the industry with her talent, making it impossible to ignore her and all that she stands for. And reader, she is a powerhouse.

Sinny


Eyes that Kiss in the Corners

Staff Pick Badge
Eyes That Kiss in the Corners Cover Image
By Joanna Ho, Dung Ho (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062915627
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - January 5th, 2021

My eyes also kiss in the corners and I wish there had been a book for my eyes when I was growing up. I love that the book exists today, thanks to Joanna Ho, and I hope that children (and adults) from all corners of the world get to read this now. Note: this makes a great gift, in time for Lunar New Year!

Sinny


The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig

Staff Pick Badge
The Seven Torments of Amy and Craig (A Love Story) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781368010061
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 17th, 2019

No time like Valentine's Day Month for a tale of teen heartbreak! This has all my favorite YA romance ingredients: aspiring artists in small towns, family quirks/drama, Dungeons & Dragons, and of course...breakups. Perfect for fans of Super Fake Love Song.

Caleb


The Good Luck Girls

Staff Pick Badge
The Good Luck Girls Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250299727
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Teen - January 5th, 2021

This book is almost too good for words. Taking place in a sci-fi setting reminiscent of the wild west, this book is everything I could have asked for and more. It tracks five girls as they escape a Welcome House (their form of brothel) and become outlaws in order to gain their freedom. Davis' worldbuilding  is some of the best I've ever seen, neither over explaining, or leaving me wishing that I knew more, and the character dynamics were to die for. An absolute must read!

Katherine


Last Night at the Telegraph Club

Staff Pick Badge
Last Night at the Telegraph Club Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525555254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2021

Lily Hu wants a lot of things that are out of reach in San Francisco's Chinatown in 1954: She wants to build rockets. She wants to avoid the communist witch hunts. And -- much to her surprise -- she wants Kathleen Miller, who is definitely not the nice Chinese boy everyone expects for her.

Sarah


How We Got to the Moon

Staff Pick Badge
How We Got to the Moon: The People, Technology, and Daring Feats of Science Behind Humanity's Greatest Adventure Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780525647416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - October 6th, 2020

“We choose to go to the Moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard...” – John F. Kennedy

Robin


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens