Childrens

My Friend Earth

Staff Pick Badge
My Friend Earth: (Earth Day Books with Environmentalism Message for Kids, Saving Planet Earth, Our Planet Book) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780811879101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - February 25th, 2020

With its tender, lyrical text, gorgeous illustrations, and fun die-cut windows on each page, this book is the perfect reminder that the earth keeps turning and spring will come again. Send it as an Earth Day present to someone you love, or pick it up for yourself and let it transport you to prairies, mountains, forests, and oceans.

Kate


Brown Girl Ghosted

Staff Pick Badge
Brown Girl Ghosted Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358128892
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Versify - March 24th, 2020

Violet Choudbury sees dead people, and in particular the recently murdered queen bee of her cheerleading squad. For one of a handful of brown girls in a small Illinois town, who wants only to blend in, this is not working well. I thoroughly enjoyed this original, fun, and fast-paced story.

Robin


American Royals

Staff Pick Badge
American Royals Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781984830173
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 3rd, 2019

 

Everyone knows that when America won the Revolutionary War, its people offered General George Washington a crown—and he accepted it. This is how American Royals begins. Imagine a world where America is about to have its first queen regent, where the age of monarchies never ended, and where the love of a young woman is powerful enough to change history. A soapy, escapist blockbuster full of drama, scandals, and romance. Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and The Royal We!

April


Welcoming Elijah

Staff Pick Badge
Welcoming Elijah: A Passover Tale with a Tail Cover Image
By Leslea Newman, Susan Gal (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781580898829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge - January 28th, 2020

 

This lovely Passover story leaves room for a variety of traditions and depicts a diverse group of characters, making it a stellar choice for families and classrooms! Gal's gestural illustrations are filled with movement while the strong contrast and bright colors sparkle. A story of opposites, warmth, welcome, and animal adoption, it's a holiday title that will be reread throughout the year.

Marika


The Inquisitor's Apprentice

Staff Pick Badge
The Inquisitor's Apprentice Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780547850849
Availability: On Order at the Warehouse
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - February 26th, 2013

 

In this fun and touching historical fantasy, 1910s New York is full of immigrant magic and predatory millionaires. When 13 year old Sacha Kessler finds out he can see magic he is forced to work for the NYPD Inquisitors to help support his family, gets himself in a whole lot of trouble, and even meets Harry Houdini. This is one of my favorite books ever, and it isn’t just because the protagonist has my name! ;)

Sacha, Writer in Residence for Young Readers 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens