Childrens

Magnolia Flower

Staff Pick Badge
Magnolia Flower By Zora Neale Hurston, Loveis Wise (Illustrator), Ibram X. Kendi Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063098312
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Amistad Books for Young Readers - September 6th, 2022

As shown in Their Eyes Were Watching God, Magnolia Flower, and Sweat, Zora Neale Hurston’s poetic voice is second to none. Ibram X. Kendi’s adaptation of her 1925 short story into a children’s picture book is just beautiful!

Kayla 


Lunar Chronicles boxed set

Staff Pick Badge
The Lunar Chronicles Boxed Set: Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Fairest, Stars Above, Winter By Marissa Meyer, Erin Siu (Editor) Cover Image
By Marissa Meyer, Erin Siu (Editor)
$71.94
ISBN: 9781250774071
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Square Fish - October 13th, 2020

Got a tween in your life? Empower them with this collection of badass fairytale heroines in space. Character driven, action packed, innovative, and emotional, Meyers' writing gets better with every book. (Not usually the case with a series) Recommend.

Wendy


The Story Orchestra: I Can Play

Staff Pick Badge
The Story Orchestra: I Can Play (vol 1): Learn 8 easy pieces of classical music! By Jessica Courtney Tickle (Illustrator), Katy Flint, Rowan Baker (Adapted by) Cover Image
By Jessica Courtney Tickle (Illustrator), Katy Flint, Rowan Baker (Adapted by)
$24.99
ISBN: 9780711264915
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Frances Lincoln Children's Books - October 4th, 2022

A gloriously illustrated music lesson for the littlest virtuosos in the making. The keyboard has color and shape coded instructions which make it a breeze to learn these 8-bar one-finger melodies. Beyond design, the true delight is the sound quality, which stands apart from other tinny sounding musicall toys.

Kendall


Tumble

Staff Pick Badge
Tumble By Celia C. Pérez Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593325179
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Kokila - August 16th, 2022

When Addie Ramírez's stepfather offers to adopt her, she starts looking for the biodad she never knew. What she finds is an extended family of luchadores, and a new connection to her passion for wrestling.

Sarah


Shuna's Journey

Staff Pick Badge
Shuna's Journey By Hayao Miyazaki, Alex Dudok de Wit (Translated by) Cover Image
By Hayao Miyazaki, Alex Dudok de Wit (Translated by)
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250846525
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: First Second - November 1st, 2022

A newly translated Miyazaki story! Shuna's Journey is a strange, almost grim adventure. In it can be found the thematic and visual roots of several Ghibli classics, especially Princess Mononoke and Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. Great for seasoned Ghibli fans and newcomers alike!

Piera


Smart

Staff Pick Badge
smART: Use Your Eyes to Boost Your Brain (Adapted from the New York Times bestseller Visual Intelligence) By Amy E. Herman, Heather Maclean (With) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665901215
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - October 25th, 2022

Make trips to the museum about more than the gift shop. An art history lesson for the whole family, SmART gives kids the foundational tools they need for seeing and thinking about the would around them. I wish I had it for my 19-year-old.

Wendy


The Book Thief

Staff Pick Badge
The Book Thief By Markus Zusak Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780375842207
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 11th, 2007

One of the most unique books I've ever read, one to be savored and felt at your core. Narrated by Death himself, The Book Thief offers a beautiful/heartbreaking picture of a German family's life during the Holocaust. If you adore exquisite figurative language and/or historical fiction from a child's perspective, this will not disappoint!!

Manasa


Hazel Hill is Gonna Win This One

Staff Pick Badge
Hazel Hill Is Gonna Win This One By Maggie Horne Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358664703
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Clarion Books - October 18th, 2022

An amazing story about growing up, being awkward, making friends, and taking on the patriarchy! Kids can and should take action! (I'm also highly biased about the main character's name)

Hazel


Not My Problem

Staff Pick Badge
Not My Problem By Ciara Smyth Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062957153
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: HarperTeen - May 24th, 2022

Aideen has a lot of things in her life that she can't fix, but when she gets roped into fixing problems for her classmates, her life spirals in a new direction. She can't fix her own problems but she can fix theirs. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and YA rom-coms, touching on deeper issues alongside humor and sweet, well-earned queer romance.

April


Keepunumuk: Weeâchumun's Thanksgiving Story (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Keepunumuk: Weeâchumun's Thanksgiving Story By Danielle Greendeer, Anthony Perry, Alexis Bunten, Garry Meeches, Sr. (Illustrator) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781623542900
Availability: Available with a Delay: On Order at Supplier: Email online@portersquarebooks.com for More Info
Published: Charlesbridge - August 2nd, 2022

Want a Thanksgiving story that respects Wampanoag traditions and has beautiful art? The good news is, you've found a stunning one. (There is no bad news). I had a blast learning Wôpanâak words with my kiddo when we read it together - I hope you do too!

Murphy


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens