Childrens

The Boys Who Challenged Hitler

Staff Pick Badge
The Boys Who Challenged Hitler: Knud Pedersen and the Churchill Club Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780374300227
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - May 12th, 2015

Phillip Hoose tells the amazing story of a group of Danish boys who disagree with their government’s decision to let Nazi Germany take over their country without a fight. Danish resistance began with boys on bicycles committing annoying acts of sabotage. Kid Power!!

Carol

 


Dragons Beware!

Staff Pick Badge
Dragons Beware! (The Chronicles of Claudette) Cover Image
By Rafael Rosado (Illustrator), Jorge Aguirre
$16.99
ISBN: 9781596438781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - May 12th, 2015

Claudette and her team are back in their second adventure! They may have defeated a giant, but they’re about to be tested again. This time they’re facing down none other than the dragon who defeated Claudette’s father.  To make things worse, some pesky princes and an evil sorcerer are getting in the way. This dynamic sequel is sure to be snatched up by excited adventurers!  

Marika

 


Lumberjanes

Staff Pick Badge
Lumberjanes Vol. 1: Beware The Kitten Holy Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781608866878
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: BOOM! Box - April 7th, 2015

Noelle Stevenson (Nimona) is back with the wildly fun Lumberjanes, about a troop of girl campers with a habit of getting into trouble with three-eyed wolves, hipster yetis, and eerie cookie-baking boy scouts. With Rosie the Riveter for a camp director, these girls are far more likely to make history than to ever be well-behaved.

Alexander

 


Between Shades of Gray

Staff Pick Badge
Between Shades of Gray Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780142420591
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 3rd, 2012

Fifteen-year-old Lina lives an ordinary life in Lithuania until Soviet soldiers pack her family onto a train and send them to a work camp in Siberia. There Lina must fight to survive while maintaining hope that her father may still be alive, and they will one day be reunited. A nuanced look at one of the lesser-known atrocities of World War II. For fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity.

Rebecca

 


A Mango Shaped Space

Staff Pick Badge
A Mango-Shaped Space Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316058254
Availability: Available at Wholesaler
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 19th, 2005

Mia is a thirteen-year-old girl who experiences synesthesia, which causes her to perceive words and noises as colors. She has always kept her condition a secret, but eventually she must accept that she isn’t like everybody else. Mia’s story is both poignant and enjoyable - vividly told and easy to relate to.

Lilly

 


ROLLER GIRL

Staff Pick Badge
Roller Girl Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780803740167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - March 10th, 2015

Twelve-year-old Astrid has a new passion: Roller Derby! From the first moment she lays eyes on the fierce, vibrant women of the roller derby she knows she has to be one of them. Trouble is, she can't skate, she can't hit, and her best friend has totally ditched her for dance camp. She needs to get tougher, stronger, and fearless!

Alexander

 


FALLOUT (LOIS LANE)

Staff Pick Badge
Fallout (Lois Lane) Cover Image
By Gwenda Bond, Bob Lentz (Cover Design by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781630790059
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact us for more info
Published: Switch Press - January 1st, 2015

Lois Lane can’t stand by when she sees potentially supernatural bullying in her new high school. With the help of her mysterious internet friend, SmallvilleGuy, and her new snazzy new reporting job, she is determined to uncover what’s really going on. This is an fantastic new take on one of DC Comics’ most enduring characters!

Shana

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens