Childrens

Comics: Easy as ABC!

Staff Pick Badge
Comics: Easy as ABC: The Essential Guide to Comics for Kids Cover Image
By Ivan Brunetti, Francoise Mouly (Introduction by)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781943145393
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Toon Graphics - April 2nd, 2019

 

I get a lot of requests for drawing books...and it’s not just because I’m an art professor! Full of cartooning exercises, this book is great if you’re looking for a summertime activity, or know a kid who’s into comics.

Marika


Just South of Home

Staff Pick Badge
Just South of Home Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781534419391
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - July 7th, 2020

 

Author Strong doesn't shy away from racial violence in this MG story, and she slams it out of the park. It's a chilling ghost story wrapped in an endearing tale of family and friendship. For kids who may not like reading non-fiction, this could be a good bridge towards discussions of White violence against Black bodies. Also all of the characters are just so adorable!

Stacey


The Belles

Staff Pick Badge
The Belles Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781484732519
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Freeform - February 5th, 2019

 

They say that you shouldn't judge a book by it's cover, but you absolutely should because this cover delivers. The Belles brings forth the neverending misconception of how beauty means good, when in reality, beauty is dark and dangerous. The world that Dhonielle Clayton creates draws you in with beauty, but darkness and an unstable society is what you end up staying for.

Sinny


Flygirl

Staff Pick Badge
Flygirl Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780142417256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 16th, 2010

 

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly--but her dream seems impossible until the United States enters World War II. In order to join the new women's pilot program, Ida decides to "pass" as white. But things never turn out exactly as hoped... Perfect for readers looking for a new angle on a well-covered historical period.

Rebecca


You Should See Me In A Crown

Staff Pick Badge
You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

 

The gloriously cute black queer prom story you never knew you needed. Liz has to become prom queen in order to get a scholarship and attend her dream college. This is difficult enough since she's black, poor, awkward, and not remotely one of the cool kids in her rich, white town. Even worse, she starts to fall in love with a girl who's openly queer. But can she admit it to her conservative classmates with the crown and the scholarship on the line? And will her girlfriend accept her staying closeted? Great for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and Dumplin'.

Shana


Banned Book Club

Staff Pick Badge
Banned Book Club Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781945820427
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Iron Circus Comics - May 19th, 2020

 

A gorgeously drawn comics memoir of joining a college book  club in South Korea 1983, and the thoughts, choices, and trials it sparked. Fast-paced, smart, and utterly compelling, this is the activist comics memoir YA readers are looking for.

Marika


Hello Girls

Staff Pick Badge
Hello Girls Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062803429
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - August 6th, 2019

 

I didn't know that I needed to read a YA retelling of Thelma and Louise until I picked up this one. Winona and Lucille are tired of feeling trapped in their lives, and they're ready for freedom. They realize they can't wait until graduation to get out, so they run, taking with them a stolen convertible and plans to get the three grand that they need to truly escape. This is a story of intense female friendship and the anger of young women trapped within the patriarchy and it will both pull your heartstrings and make you cheer for these girls to tear down the patriarchy. 

April


Ashlords

Staff Pick Badge
Ashlords Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593119174
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

 

Ashlords is one you won't be able to put down! It has something for everyone - sci-fi horse racing, phoenixes, SCIENCE, fights to the death, ghosts?, dimension hopping, and more! - and yet it never feels crowded or overly complicated. You'll be frantically turning the pages in this total adrenaline rush! 

Caleb


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens