Childrens

The Thing About Jellyfish

Staff Pick Badge
The Thing About Jellyfish Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316380843
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 4th, 2017

While everyone else believes that a drowning accident took Franny Jackson's life, her best friend Suzy Swanson is on a self-imposed mission to find the real culprit of her death. What is grief? When is it okay to let go? How do you move on? Ali Benjamin presents answers to all of these difficult questions in her stunning debut. Beautifully written and heartfelt to the core, The Thing About Jellyfish is the kind of book that you read as a kid and still remember years down the line.

Cindy


To Break a Covenant

Staff Pick Badge
To Break a Covenant Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781645672067
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Page Street Kids - September 21st, 2021

Fans of Plain Bad Heroines and Wilder Girls will love this book. Moon Basin is the type of haunted town that draws in Ghost Hunters from all over the country, and one summer four friends realize the chilling truth of what it means that no one ever leaves. This book is the type of bone-chilling you won’t be able to look away from.

Katherine
 


Garlic and the Vampire

Staff Pick Badge
Garlic and the Vampire Cover Image
By Bree Paulsen, Bree Paulsen (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062995087
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 28th, 2021

Absolutely adorable characters brought to life with rich, earthy illustrations. Paulsen has created such a sweet, unique story that will resonate with so many anxious readers. A stroll on an early autumn day in book form.

Stacey


These Violent Delights

Staff Pick Badge
These Violent Delights Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534457690
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - November 17th, 2020

These Violent Delights is my new favorite Shakespeare retelling. A take on Romeo and Juliet set in 1920s Shanghai with the lovers cast as the heirs to two rival gangs in the city, and a dash of the supernatural thrown in as a mysterious madness sweeps through the city. It's fast-paced, vividly drawn, and pulled me all the way into the story. And the sequel comes out next month!

April


Unidentified Suburban Object

Staff Pick Badge
Unidentified Suburban Object Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780545782272
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Scholastic Inc. - May 30th, 2017

This is a delightful story about how a Korean American middle-grader, Chloe, feels about growing up in a town where no one else looks like her except for her family. It's hard to give a true and wonderful review w/out spoilage but what feels like a contemporary story at the beginning does take a turn into another genre that is quite exciting.

Sinny


Skyhunter

Staff Pick Badge
Skyhunter (Skyhunter Duology #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781250802699
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Square Fish - August 31st, 2021

Maybe you know Marie Lu from the Legend series. Or the Warcross duology. But I'm willing to bet that Skyhunter, Marie's newest young adult sci-fi duology, has flown under your radar. Set in a military base and the midst of several warring countries, Skyhunter is full of dark twists and turns and thoughtful commentary on race, sexuality, and the consequences of colonization. The stakes are ridiculously high, the suspense a veil of smoke. Skyhunter is a must-read for fans of dystopian.

Cindy


A Lesson in Vengeance

Staff Pick Badge
A Lesson in Vengeance Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593305829
Availability: In Stock-Click Title to See Store Inventory
Published: Delacorte Press - August 3rd, 2021

Sapphic dark academia, pulling on the complicated and witchy bonds of female relationships and weaving them into a fantastic tapestry you can’t look away from. It’s witchy and addictining and you’ll find yourself pulling back layer after layer of secrets. If this book had come out when I was in highschool, it would be my whole personality. It made me absolutely and completely feral, and I loved every second of it.

Katherine


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Childrens