Criticism

WILD THINGS: ACTS OF MISCHIEF IN CHILDREN’S LITERATURE

Staff Pick Badge
Wild Things! Acts of Mischief in Children's Literature Cover Image
$22.99
ISBN: 9780763651503
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Candlewick - August 5th, 2014

This hilarious book is chock full of all sorts of juicy tidbits on writers, illustrators, editors, and even librarians. With language and content that's R-rated, this is the ultimate beach read for children's lit lovers.

MARIKA

 


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


THE FORCE OF WHAT’S POSSIBLE

Staff Pick Badge
The Force of Whatas Possible: Writers on Accessibility & the Avant-Garde Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781937658274
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Nightboat Books - December 1st, 2014

This anthology collects the answers, explorations, philosophies, poetic wanderings, prosaic wonderings of some of our best writers in prose and poetry as they grapple with the idea of the avant-garde in contemporary literature. A must have for any reader looking to stay on the cutting edge of today’s writing, while peering over the edge at whatever the future of literature might hold.

Josh


Tiger Writing

Staff Pick Badge
Tiger Writing: Art, Culture, and the Interdependent Self (William E. Massey Sr. Lectures in the History of American Civilization) Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780674072831
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Harvard University Press - March 25th, 2013

Gish Jen delivers a concise, engaging look at the profoundly different characteristics that define “good stories” across the cultural divide of East and West. Particularly interesting is her prodding of the accepted wisdom that good writing is always character-driven—a broadly Western and most especially American conceit about the definition of good writing that says more about our own self-conception than it does about the fundamentals of writing itself.

Alexander


Thrown

Staff Pick Badge
Thrown Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781936747924
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Sarabande Books - October 14th, 2014

Unlike anything you've ever read, Thrown is a philosophical exploration of what it means to be alive through the lens of Mixed Martial Arts. The work of an intense intellect, Thrown uses the lives of two fighters to struggle with the biggest questions of experience, very directly  fighting for meaning and significance in our chaotic and confusing world. A major work by a major mind.

Josh


The Lady and Her Monsters

Staff Pick Badge
The Lady and Her Monsters: A Tale of Dissections, Real-Life Dr. Frankensteins, and the Creation of Mary Shelley's Masterpiece Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062025838
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 22nd, 2013

The narrative of Mary Shelley’s fascinating life interwoven with stories of history’s real-life Doctor Frankensteins. Perfect for history nerds and book buffs alike.Mackenzie


The Most Dangerous Book

Staff Pick Badge
The Most Dangerous Book: The Battle for James Joyce's Ulysses Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781594203367
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: Penguin Press - June 12th, 2014

The story of the transformation of Ulysses by James Joyce from contraband to classic is absolutely fascinating. Vice squads. Book piracy. Smuggling. Courtroom drama. Heroes of art and expression. Villains of prudishness and fear. More than just a book about a book, Birmingham’s work explores all aspects of culture and highlights just how close we were to a world in which literature was controlled by the fearful instead of driven by the brave.   

Josh


What Makes This Books So Great

Staff Pick Badge
What Makes This Book So Great: Re-Reading the Classics of Science Fiction and Fantasy Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765331939
Availability: Hard to Find--Contact us for More Info
Published: Tor Books - January 21st, 2014

What Makes This Book So Great collects Jo Walton's Tor.com blog posts written between 2008 and 2011. In each entry she lovingly revisits a favorite science fiction or fantasy title that has fallen out of the public eye. In these pages you will discover both Jo Walton's enchanting style (even and especially when she writes about books you've never heard of) and a treasure trove of classic titles you will immediately need to add to your to-read list.

Rebecca


Shakespeare's Tremor and Orwell's Cough

Staff Pick Badge
Shakespeare's Tremor and Orwell's Cough: The Medical Lives of Famous Writers Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780312600761
Availability: It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Info
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 16th, 2012

Wonderfully wrought chapter-length biographies with modern-day hypothetical diagnoses.  They add a depth of insight into the work and, if anything, a greater respect for the producing of literary classics in the pre-antibiotic days.  And if Dr. Ross tires of the scalpel he can certainly take up the pen.Gary


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Criticism