Essays

Winter

Staff Pick Logo
Winter Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399563331
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - January 23rd, 2018

 

Winter, the second book in the Seasons Quartet, continues in the same vein as Autumn with vignettes about items, events, and people Knausgaard encounters in the season. I found the essays in turns funny, endearing, and haunting. A few of my favorite essays are "Winter Sounds", "Guests", and "Winter Boots".

Heather


They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us

Staff Pick Logo
They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781937512651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Two Dollar Radio - November 7th, 2017

Like the music he writes about, Hanif Abdurraqib's essay collection is by turns novel and nostalgic, euphoric and poignant, contemplative and raw. A moving examination of the way pop culture ties into the current state of our nation--and how it affects us on a personal level.

 

Kate


The Hour Of Land

Staff Pick Logo
The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America's National Parks Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250132147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - July 3rd, 2017

Tempest Williams is one of my favorite writers (and a fellow Utahn!), and she's at her finest in this collection of essays on America's National Parks. They are personal and political, informative and immediate, a reflection on our messy relationship with wild spaces that's by turns heartbreaking and uplifting. If you're looking for a book to inspire you to get outside this summer, this is the one!


A Twenty Minute Silence Followed by Applause

Staff Pick Logo
A Twenty Minute Silence Followed by Applause Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941411483
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sarabande Books - July 11th, 2017

I’m going to say something and you’ll think I’m making this up by I assure you I’m not. Ready? If you read this book you will be moved by descriptions of Marcel Marceau’s acts. Part meditation, part lyrical interpretation, part biography, Wan’s extended consideration of the world’s greatest mime is beautiful weird, like a photograph of a really leggy insect on a sharply outlined twig against a crisp woodland backdrop.


Guidebook to Relative Strangers

Staff Pick Logo
Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys Into Race, Motherhood, and History Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393253757
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 13th, 2017

An absolutely brilliant essay collection covering race, motherhood, career, travel, and more. I don't usually take the time to appreciate individual lines in a book, but the sentences here had me stopping to savor each one.


Calamities

Staff Pick Logo
Calamities Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781940696270
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Wave Books - September 6th, 2016

Gladman is one of our most exciting and innovative writers, stretching the boundaries of every genre and style she attempts. Calamities is a collection of short essays about everything from navigating the trivialities of daily life to the very nature of narrative and writing.  

Josh


Against Everything

Staff Pick Logo
Against Everything: Essays Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781101871157
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Pantheon Books - September 6th, 2016

I seldom encounter academic cultural criticism. If the purpose of cultural criticism is inform/outrage/irritate/excite us, and academia's function too often seems to bewilder one with jargon, the two are uneasily conflated. Greif resists such a division, and his essays give us the rare treat of clear writing--a sign of clear thinking--probing deeply into issues about which there is much talk, but rarely enough thought. Clever, articulate, and insightful: the kind of voice you wish appeared in every social conversation.

Matthew


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Flight Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941920060
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Essays