Essays

Guidebook to Relative Strangers

Staff Pick Badge
Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys into Race, Motherhood, and History By Camille T. Dungy Cover Image
$25.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9780393253757
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 13th, 2017

An absolutely brilliant essay collection covering race, motherhood, career, travel, and more. I don't usually take the time to appreciate individual lines in a book, but the sentences here had me stopping to savor each one.


Calamities

Staff Pick Badge
Calamities By Renee Gladman Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781940696270
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Wave Books - September 6th, 2016

Gladman is one of our most exciting and innovative writers, stretching the boundaries of every genre and style she attempts. Calamities is a collection of short essays about everything from navigating the trivialities of daily life to the very nature of narrative and writing.  

Josh


Against Everything

Staff Pick Badge
Against Everything: Essays By Mark Greif Cover Image
$28.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781101871157
Published: Pantheon - September 6th, 2016

I seldom encounter academic cultural criticism. If the purpose of cultural criticism is inform/outrage/irritate/excite us, and academia's function too often seems to bewilder one with jargon, the two are uneasily conflated. Greif resists such a division, and his essays give us the rare treat of clear writing--a sign of clear thinking--probing deeply into issues about which there is much talk, but rarely enough thought. Clever, articulate, and insightful: the kind of voice you wish appeared in every social conversation.

Matthew


THE ART OF FLIGHT

Staff Pick Badge
The Art of Flight By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by) Cover Image
By Sergio Pitol, George Henson (Translator), Enrique Vila-Matas (Introduction by)
$15.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781941920060
Published: Deep Vellum Publishing - March 17th, 2015

A meditation on travel, literature, writing, politics and culture, The Art of Flight is the long overdue introduction of one of the great living Mexican writers to American readers. Part memoir, part travelogue, part something else, this book is a must for writers and others interested in creativity or thoughtful considerations of ways of being. Also great for fans of The Empathy Exams, The Argonauts, and, oddly, Knaussgaard's My Struggle.

Josh

 


THIS IS THE STORY OF A HAPPY MARRIAGE

Staff Pick Badge
This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage: A Reese's Book Club Pick By Ann Patchett Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780062236685
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Harper Perennial - October 7th, 2014

An incisive collection of essays from the acclaimed author of Bel Canto. Seemingly disparate pieces come together in a nuanced exploration of the reading, writing, and empathetic life. Read for inspiration, reflection, and Patchett's luminous prose.

Rebecca


The Empathy Exams

Staff Pick Badge
The Empathy Exams: Essays By Leslie Jamison Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781555976712
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Graywolf Press - April 1st, 2014

Jamison asks one question over and over in The Empathy Exams. She asks it of young doctors, ultrarunners, John Agee, Joan Didion, a man who punched her, a man in jail, a woman who believes fibers grow out of her skin. She asks them all, herself, and you: how can we be people with each other? Through her brilliant essays, equal parts head and heart, she leads us closer to answering her own impossible question.

Josh


Deadline Artists

Staff Pick Badge
Deadline Artists: America's Greatest Newspaper Columns By John P. Avlon, Jesse Angelo, Errol Louis Cover Image
$17.95
It's Complicated--Contact Us for More Information
ISBN: 9781468300543
Published: Abrams Press - September 25th, 2012

This collection brings together some of the best newspaper columns from the last 150 years, from famous names like H.L. Mencken and Dave Barry to brilliant unknowns who understand the power of a well-written sentence.

Sarah


E.B. White on Dogs

Staff Pick Badge
E.B. White on Dogs By Martha White (Editor) Cover Image
By Martha White (Editor)
Not Available
ISBN: 9780884483410
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Tilbury House Publishers - March 25th, 2013

Can you imagine a better combination; dogs, and E.B. White’s writings about them? Essays from Harper’s Magazine and The New Yorker, poems, and personal letters make up this delightful collection. Each piece contains White’s gentle humor, distinctive style and his unquestioning love of dogs.

Robin


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Essays