Fantasy

The Light Pirate (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The Light Pirate: GMA Book Club Selection By Lily Brooks-Dalton Cover Image
$15.19
ISBN: 9781538708286
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 16th, 2024

It's been a while since I burned through a book as quickly as this one. It asks, is normal something you can get back, or just something you get used to?

- John


Dark Matter (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Dark Matter: A Novel By Blake Crouch Cover Image
$14.40
ISBN: 9781101904244
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Ballantine Books - May 2nd, 2017

Crouch’s best-selling novel following the age old question we all feel… what if? This story follows a man traveling multiple realities in hopes to return to the family he loves. Now a complete series on AppleTV! Don’t let yourself say “What if I picked that book up” later tonight!

- Connor


Sheine Lende (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Sheine Lende: A Prequel to Elatsoe By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781646143795
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Levine Querido - April 16th, 2024

Darcie Little Badger has the unique ability to write a story so compelling and natural that the world she creates is more convincing than our own. Perhaps Sheine Lende did once walk the land of the dead and reclaim her home after it was stolen from her, and this is the first time I'm hearing about it. Perhaps there are fairy rings that can transport you anywhere, and I simply have not been paying attention. Or perhaps not, and we're all simply very lucky to be living in a world where we get to read books written by Darcie Little Badger.

- Katherine


The God of Endings (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
The God of Endings: A Novel By Jacqueline Holland Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250856784
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Flatiron Books - March 26th, 2024

I always love a new, refreshing take on vampires, and Jacqueline Holland's version is both troubling and fascinating. Great for readers of Claire Kohda, The God of Endings is a story of love, family, and history, as seen through the eyes of an immortal woman.

- Engel


Song of Silver, Flame like Night (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Song of Silver, Flame Like Night (Song of the Last Kingdom #1) By Amélie Wen Zhao Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780593487501
Availability: Available to Order from Supplier: Arrives at Store in a Week(ish)
Published: Delacorte Press - January 3rd, 2023

Amélie Wen Zhao draws inspiration from mythology and folklore to take readers on a fantastical journey through ancient China. Beautiful prose, high-stakes, and an unexpected romance make this book a page turner and a delight to read.

- Cindy


Fifty Beasts to Break Your Heart (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Fifty Beasts to Break Your Heart: And Other Stories By GennaRose Nethercott Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593314180
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Vintage - February 6th, 2024

It is very rare that every short story in a collection blows me away, but GennaRose has done it. I was left completely breathless over her prose, heartbroken over her characters, and in desperate need for just one more story. Read it in one go or savor each word, but don't let this one pass you by.

- Jen


Sir Callie and the Champions of Helston (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Sir Callie and the Champions of Helston By Esme Symes-Smith Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780593485804
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Yearling - August 8th, 2023

My top read of 2023 and possibly one of my all-time favorite Middle Grade books! Callie is a heroine that children will adore. Dragons, magic, coming-of-age. "It's so good" is an understatement.

- Kaliisha


Mistborn (Staff Pick)

Staff Pick Badge
Mistborn: The Final Empire (The Mistborn Saga #1) By Brandon Sanderson Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250868282
Availability: In Stock: Click Title to See if it's in CAMBRIDGE or BOSTON
Published: Tor Books - February 14th, 2023

THIS IS SO GOOD. This is epic fantasy is so so so full of emotion and mystical powers and incredibly relevant commentary that you could literally never ask for anything more. I am not often one for books over 500 pages but this one had me hooked & I will promptly be reading the rest of the series.

- Alyssa


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy