Fantasy

The Wolf and the Woodsman

Staff Pick Badge
The Wolf and the Woodsman: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062973122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - June 8th, 2021

This might very well be my new favorite fantasy book. A debut novel that draws from the same foundation as books like or the Wolf and Spinning Silver, but is still wholly and completely it's own thing.  An enemies to friends to lovers story about survival, and sacrifice, that understands forgiveness and redemption in a wholly transformative way. This book is the type of fantasy that grabs you by the hair and doesn’t let go. 

Katherine


Summer in the City of Roses

Staff Pick Badge
Summer in the City of Roses Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641291712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Teen - July 6th, 2021

Michelle Ruiz Keil has perfectly captured the dream-like quality of the dog days of summer in this tale that’s part Greek myth and part fairytale. She has boiled down both, leaving us with the truest parts of the stories, the love between two siblings. Reading this book is like watching a film shot in soft focus, and I found myself totally enraptured.

Katherine


The Witness for the Dead

Staff Pick Badge
The Witness for the Dead Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765387424
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 22nd, 2021

Thara Celehar gained enough notoriety for a lifetime when he identified the perpetrators of an imperial assassination. Now he lives far away from the court and quietly attends to his work as a Witness for the Dead. But when he is called upon to Witness for two young women who died under suspicious circumstances, he stumbles upon two mysteries that demand to be solved. An engrossing detective story, this companion novel to The Goblin Emperor (also excellent!) can absolutely be read on its own.

Rebecca


The Witch King

Staff Pick Badge
The Witch King Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781335212795
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Inkyard Press - June 1st, 2021

One of the most real books I’ve read about trans teens, which is saying something since it takes place in a fascinating and unique fantasy world. Wyatt is the sharp-edged scowly protagonist I didn’t know I was waiting for. Great for fans of Cemetery Boys and Seanan McGuire!

Shana


The Chosen and the Beautiful

Staff Pick Badge
The Chosen and the Beautiful Cover Image
By Nghi Vo
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250784780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - June 1st, 2021

To call this a Great Gatsby retelling is to undersell it. Told from the point of view of Jordan Baker, this is a gripping and magical story about difficult friendships, identity and belonging, paper tigers, literal devil's bargains, and all the glitz and glamor of the 1920s. Probably my favorite new book of the year.

Ari


For the Wolf

Staff Pick Badge
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316592789
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - June 1st, 2021

This book draws you in and doesn’t let you go until the last page. Red is born the second daughter, which means on her twentieth birthday she is sent into the Wilderwood to fulfill an ancient contract (the Second Daughter has always been promised to the Wolf). What results is a cross between Red Riding Hood and Beauty and the Beast, with one of the best romances I’ve read in awhile (there’s only one bed!!). This book is brimming with loyalty & longing & political machinations. Like Red, you’ll find yourself inexplicably drawn to the Wilderwood. 

Katherine


Folklorn

Staff Pick Badge
Folklorn Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781645660163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Erewhon - April 27th, 2021

A mosaic of reality and fairytale with boundaries muddied like a red ribbon dragged through the mortar, Folklorn explores generational trauma, the Korean immigrant experience, grief, mental illness, and Korean mythology in a book that chills and captivates. Truly, I couldn't put it down.

Meaghan


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy