Fantasy

Shadow Magic

Staff Pick Badge
Shadow Magic (A Shadow Magic Novel) Cover Image
By Joshua Khan, Ben Hibon (Illustrator), Ben Hibon (Cover design or artwork by)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781484737880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - March 14th, 2017

 

Perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, the Shadow Magic series is a perfect fantasy read: it has a treacherous new world, zombies, elemental powers, giant bats, and a girl who can talk to ghosts. What more could you want?

Caleb


American Hippo

Staff Pick Badge
American Hippo: River of Teeth, Taste of Marrow, and New Stories Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250176431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - May 22nd, 2018

 

Take the gritty lawlessness of a western, combine it with vicious hippos that can and will snap a person in half with their giant jaws, then make everyone queer. That might give you an idea of what you're in for with American Hippo, but I don't think anything can really prepare you. Pick it up, and experience the delightful and bloody madness for yourself.

 

Shana


Good Omens

Staff Pick Badge
Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780060853983
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - November 28th, 2006

 

This has been one of my favorite books for over half my life. In a world that feels increasingly apocalyptic, this one -- with its fond-of-Earth angel and demon duo, witches and witch-hunters, motorcycle-riding Horsepersons, adorable hellhounds, and the occasional rain of fish -- is the funniest, most uplifting and irreverent apocalypse story you're going to find. And there's a tv show out now, if you like that sort of thing. 

Ari


Afterward

Staff Pick Badge
The Afterward Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735231894
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - February 19th, 2019

 

Kalanthe and Olsa were on an epic adventure a year ago. They fell in love and came back heroes. But now, Kalanthe, an apprentice knight, needs to marry to pay off her debts, and Olsa isn't rich enough to qualify. Olsa is one of the most recognized people in the kingdoms, which makes her work as a thief frustratingly difficult. Told half in flashbacks and half in the more complicated post-adventure present, this story is a fascinating exploration of the question so many high fantasy novels ignore: what comes next?

Shana


The Language of Thorns

Staff Pick Badge
The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic Cover Image
By Leigh Bardugo, Sara Kipin (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250122520
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Imprint - September 26th, 2017

 

This collection of fairytales includes both clever retellings and entirely new stories that still feel wonderfully familiar. The accompanying illustrations are beautiful, and feel as much a part of the stories as the words do. I wanted to read this over and over.

Ari


Middlegame

Staff Pick Badge
Middlegame Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250195524
Availability: Available at Warehouse
Published: Tor.com - May 7th, 2019

 

Roger lives for words. His sister Dodger lives for numbers. They were created to take control of the world, but first they have to figure out how to do it without losing themselves in the process. Good thing they can rewind and try again however many times they want. I read this book twice since it was published and I know I'll read it again soon. It's like Undertale crossed with Escape from Witch Mountain. It's not like anything else you've ever read.


 

Shana


The Golem and the Jinni

Staff Pick Badge
The Golem and the Jinni: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062110848
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - December 31st, 2013

 

In 1899 Manhattan, Chava is a golem who has unexpectedly lost her master, and Ahmad is a jinni who is accidentally summoned from the copper flask in which he was imprisoned. They form an odd and touching friendship, and together they navigate a strange new country and the return of an old sinister force. Part historical fiction, part mythological fantasy, and entirely wonderful.

Ari


Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fantasy